HOW TO GET YOUR GOLF CART LICENSE PLATE:




There are a few options for obtaining a license plate for your golf cart.

BRING (best, fastest, easiest option if possible) your completed application Download 2017 Golf Cart Application Here , valid Texas Liability Insurance *for the golf cart* and a copy of your drivers license to City Hall (710 W Avenue A, Port Aransas, TX 78373) during normal business hours (M-F, 8am to noon and 1pm to 5pm).
o You can walk out with your valid license plate.


MAIL your completed application Download 2017 Golf Cart Application Here , copy of your valid Texas Liability Insurance *for the golf cart* and a copy of your drivers license to City Hall, 710 W Avenue A, Port Aransas, TX 78373.
o We will mail your plate to you the day we receive all the complete/valid information or we can leave it to be picked up, after-hours, at the Police Department. Please indicate which option works best for you.


FAX your completed application Download 2017 Golf Cart Application Here , valid Texas Liability Insurance *for the golf cart* and a copy of your drivers license to (361) 749-5270. Then call and pay with a credit card over the phone.
o We can mail the plate to you that day or leave it to be picked up, after-hours, at the Police Department.



VANITY GOLF CART PLATES RULES AND REGULATIONS




? Vanity plates will be issued on a first come first serve basis. We will reserve your plate from year to year for a period of two months (January, February) and on March 1st, the plate name will become available to the general public. The City Manager (or his designee) will keep the list and be in charge of plate name approvals and reserves the right to refuse plate names for any reason.

? Plate names are limited to seven spaces and can only include letters, numbers or a combination of both.

? Vanity plates take approximately weeks 6 to 8 weeks to process, you will be issued a temporary paper plate in the interim period.

? Vanity Plates will be an additional cost of $20.00 to total $70.00 per year for year-round resident and $120.00 per year for non-resident.

? The application process is the same except you will receive a temporary plate until your permanent plate arrives.


GOLF CART LAWS STRICTLY ENFORCED




FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS




? What do I need to obtain a golf cart place for my golf cart?
o Golf Cart Application Download 2017 Golf Cart Application Here , valid Texas Liability Insurance *for the golf cart* (most vehicle insurance providers also provide golf cart insurance) and a copy of your drivers license.

? I had it registered last year, how can I renew it? Don?t you have my information from last year on file?
o You must complete the same process each year. All information from last year has been sent to storage and is not readily available.

? Are off-road vehicles allowed?
o ATV?s (Kawasaki, Polaris, Mules, 4-wheelers) are NOT considered golf carts. It is not legal to be drive these 'off-road' vehicles on any Texas road, per state law. They are meant for off-road-hunting, ranching and rural roads. The beach is a public roadway and all normal traffic laws apply.

? How much does it cost to register my golf cart?
o Registration is $50.00 per year for year-round resident and $100.00 per year for non-resident. You may also obtain a beach parking permit, required to park on the beach, for an additional $12.

? When does my license plate expire?
o It expires on December 31st, every year.

Download 2017 Golf Cart Application Here
© 2010 City of Port Aransas
710 W. Avenue A, Port Aransas, Tx 78373
Tel: 361.749.4111
Website designed by: Ensemble Group